Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

gs2001
New Contributor

Partner suffering drug induced psychosis

Hi all, I have never done anything like this before but am honestly feeling completely alone in my experience and have no clue who to turn to for help.

My partner was recently spiked overseas with an unknown drug which has caused him to go into a drug induced psychosis. His first episode lasted 10 days and he was hospitalised. Since this, he has been moved to a psych ward and has been on a high dosage of antipsychotics. He was showing signs of improvement and seemed to have completely overcome the episode- he was even released from the hospital and had his medication dosage lowered, however, within 24 hours he had entered a second psychosis. He is now in hospital again and his second episode of psychosis is worse than the first. He has been violent, paranoid, aggressive and completely out of touch with reality. He is refusing to speak to me and has been completely withdrawing from people he knows and loves. The things he has been saying and doing are completely delusional and make absolutely no sense.

I don’t know how to cope with this, multiple doctors and nurses keep telling me to ‘give it time’, but there is nothing that eases your mind or helps the emotional suffering you go through as the loved one of someone experiencing mental health issues. As someone who has never had an experience or been exposed to psychosis, I know very little about how this affects someone’s life or what it is like to go through this. I’m not sure if my partner is aware or will remember about what he has said or if he is even in control of himself at the moment.